Things I wish I could buy in Rome

Before I begin, I have to disclose something. It’s entirely possible that one or more of the following are actually available in Rome and I simply haven’t been able to find them. Probable, actually. But in the meantime, it would be nice to find:

  • Brown sugar
  • Scented candles
  • White long-sleeved t-shirts from Old Navy
  • David Sedaris’s new book
  • Baking soda
  • Baking powder
  • Almonds
  • Trader Joe’s pre-natal vitamins (don’t worry, I have others but I do enjoy TJ’s)
  • Muffin tins
  • Organic cotton onesies
  • Furniture from a store other than Ikea

To balance it out, there are many things available here that one could not find–not with ease–in the US. These include Nutella, Smart cars, fresh (often home-grown and hand-pressed) olive oil,  postcards of your incredibly ancient surroundings…

3 Comments

Filed under Life

3 responses to “Things I wish I could buy in Rome

  1. Brown sugar: isn’t this called “zucchero di canna”?

    Baking powder: isn’t this “lievito”?

    Almonds and baking soda: I’m positive there are… can’t remember the exact name, I’ll ask my mom this weekend 🙂

  2. I actually called my mom… 🙂 Here you go:

    – almonds = mandorle
    – baking soda = bicarbonato

    Cheers!

  3. colleen

    if you give me your address, i can take care of getting to you a few of those items… 🙂

Leave a Reply

